Weekend Wrap Up: #XHT16 in Moncton and Toronto

Here is a weekend wrap up for the first weekend of #XHT16


The '03s are just snakebitten in final games. Since 2013, the club has made the tournament finals 3 out of 4 seasons, but has gone 0-3 in those games. Congrats to all players on the '03s who represented the X well this past weekend. Members of the 03 team were: Brett Hudson, Brandon Furlong, Brady Mitchelmore, Liam Picco, Patrick Hurley, Will Williams, Camren Cumby, James Noftall, James Clarke, Declan Barron, Andrew Power, Ryan St John, Thomas O'Brien, Nolan Cleary, Evan Martin, and Caleb Druken.

2006 AAA

The '06s finished the tournament with a 4-1-1 record. The only blemish in their record came at the hands of the NS Raiders, who they beat 12 hours later to set up a date with the NB Stars in the Bronze Medal game. The bronze medal game was a real doozy; the Stars took a commanding 4-1 lead into the late stages of the second, but a highlight reel stop by Sean Hogan and a rebound goal had the '06s down 4-2 with 15 minutes to play. The '06s were relentless in the third stanza, with Carter Hynes scoring to make it 4-3 and Andy "Maverick" Knight potting a goal with 3 minutes to play to tie. With only 6 seconds remaining in the game, Liam Noble had a breakaway to win the game but was stopped by the NB goaltender to send the game to OT. In OT, it only took Matty Butler 25 seconds to go top cheese and claim the bronze medal for the X. Congrats to all players on the team, as well as the coaching staff for a great tournament! Member of the '06 AAA team were: Liam Noble, Andy Knight, Nolan Avery, Patrick Quinlan, Evan Boland, Elias Marner, Matty Butler, Kyle Greene, Luke Power, Ewan Cleary, Jack Chafe, Malachy Marner, Jaxsen Healey, Michael Skinner, Sean Brown, Carter Hynes, Sean Hogan, and Scott Kirby.


The '07s learned some valuable lessons this past weekend in Moncton; lessons that coach Adam Pearcey believes will help the group in future seasons. "We learned that we can never give up, and to be the best that we can be every single shift" said Pearcey. Despite a winless showing at the tournament, there were a great deal of bright spots for the '07s. The goaltending tandem of "CA" Carter Arnold and Jack Carter were beyond spectacular in the crease, and coach AP believes that some of the forwards turned defenceman have a lot of potential on the back end. The team also had a great deal of fun, mixing in some Go Karting and a lot of swimming amongst their busy weekend schedule. Congrats to all of the players on the '07 team for being a part of the X Hockey Travel Program in 2016! Members of the '07 team were: Tate Cullen, Ben O'Brien, Jacob Russell, Micah Tucker, Cohen Ryan, Logan Andrews, Collin Silver, Maria Groves, Alex Hickey, Brady Ralph, Nick Lewis, Michael Pilgrim, Nevyn Whitty, Matthew Bailo, Leo Avery, Jack Carter, and "CA" Carter Arnold.

X Hockey would also like to thank all of the coaches (Barry Hudson, Shawn Newhook, Mark Roebothan, Scott Knight, PJ Power) as well as the managers (Philip Martin, Kim Quinlan, Sharon Ryan) for their hard work and commitment to the travel program.