#xhockeyalums Off-Island Commitment Tracker - 2020-21

Here's a compilation of where #xhockeyalums and #xhockeyplayers will be suiting up in 2020-21 (subject to change based on trades, etc)

* All players featured in this article have committed to playing for teams outside the province of Newfoundland in 2020-21. If we have missed somebody, please contact ap@xhockey.ca . There are lots of fantastic players who will be playing locally at the Midget and Bantam (male and female) level this season as well! This list only features players who have participated in X Hockey programming in previous years, or are currently training with Xtreme this summer.


Clark Bishop ('96) - Carolina Hurricanes Main Camp (NHL) ***

Nathan Noel ('97) - Philadelphia Main Camp (NHL), played with Indy Fuel (ECHL) in 2019-20

Adrian Kempe ('96) - Los Angeles Kings (NHL)

James Melindy ('93) - NL Growlers (ECHL)

Alex Wall ('90) - Frisk Asker (European Pro)

Shayne Morrissey (‘92) - TBD (ECHL)

Cody Donaghey ('96) - Orlando Solar Bears (ECHL)

Adam Holwell ('97) - St. FX (USPORT AUS)

Ian Smallwood (‘99) - N/A (MHL in 2018-19)

Tyler Boland ('96) - University of New Brunswick (USPORT AUS)

Lucas Batt ('96) - Wilfred Laurier University (USPORT OUA)

Adam Dawe ('99) - University of Maine (NCAA Div I)

Zach Rose ('99) - Bowling Green (NCAA Div I)

Evan White ('99) - Ontario Tech University (USPORT OUA)

Joel Bishop ('99) - St. Mary's University (USPORT AUS)


Matt McKim - Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL Jr A; NCAA Div I commit - University of Alaska-Fairbanks '21)

Zach Bennett - Campbelton Tigers (MHL Jr A)

Nick Abbott - Brantford 99's (CCHL Jr A; NCAA Div I commit - Canisius '20)

Maggie Connors - Princeton University (NCAA Div I Womens)

Drew Bennett - Salmon Arm Silverbacks (BCHL)

Devan Newhook - Salmon Arm Silverbacks (BCHL)

Liam Leonard - Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)

Brent Broaders - Smith Falls Bears (CCHL Jr A)

Ethan Stuckless - Fredericton Red Wings (MHL Jr A)

Sidney Squires - Neumann University (NCAA Div III)


Alex Newhook - Boston College (Colorado Avalanche NHL 1st round selection '19)

Kyle Petten - Campbellton Tigers (MHL Jr A)

Dawson Mercer - Drummondville Voltiguers (QMJHL; projected 1st round NHL selection '20)

Izzy Weist - Dalhouse University (USPORT AUS Female)

Mark Rumsey - Bathurst Titan (QMJHL)

Shailynn Snow - St. Lawrence University (NCAA Div I)


Noah Wilson - Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL)

Alex Power - Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL Jr A)

Brandon Casey - Rimouski Oceanic (QMJHL)

Alex Drover - Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)

Nathan Kelly - Fredericton Red Wings (MHL Jr A)

Reilly Mayne - Yarmouth Mariners (MHL Jr A)


Abby Newhook - Tabor Academy/Bay State Breakers (US Prep; NCAA Div I commit - Boston College '21)

Ryan Greene - Green Bay Gamblers (USHL; NCAA Div I commit - Boston University '21)

James Clarke - York-Simcoe Express (GTHL)

Zach Dean - Gatineau Olympiques (QMJHL; League Rookie of the Year candidate '19)

Bradley Blake - Rothesay Netherwood (CDN Prep)

Ashley Hayley - Trinity (Female Prep)

Samantha Trask - Trinity (Female Prep)

Patrick Hurley - Rothesay Netherwood (CDN Prep)

Conor Shortall - Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL)

Will Dyke - Stanstead College (CDN Prep; 9th round selection QMJHL Shawinigan)

Rachel Dean - King's Edgeehill (CDN Prep)


Dekon Snow - OHA (CDN Prep) - Baie Comeau Draft Pick (QMJHL)

Anna Barrington - Ridley (JWHL Female Prep)

Jayme Guy - Rothesay Netherwood (CDN Prep)

Airika Penney - Kings Edgehill (CDN Prep)

Riley Mercer - Drummondville Voltigeurs Draft Pick (QMJHL)

Cruz Loughlin - Rouyn-Noranda Huskies Draft Pick (QMJHL)

2005 and Younger

Hillary Taylor - Ridley (JWHL Female Prep)

Maddy Fillier - Ridley (JWHL Female Prep)

Conor Ryan - Mount St. Charles (US Prep)